NFF Salute


For a fourth consecutive year, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl has the honor of hosting and recognizing the National Football Foundation’s 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class.

The 14th Annual National Hall of Fame Salute at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will highlight the outstanding careers of 10 All-America players and three legendary coaches who established themselves among the greatest to ever set foot on the college gridiron.

The event, which takes place just steps from the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame, will utilize the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl to showcase the Hall’s newest inductees between the third and fourth quarters.

“Atlanta is the capital of college football,” Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Chairman Bob Somers said. “I can think of no better place to formally welcome these 13 legends of the game to their new permanent home in the College Football Hall of Fame.”

Prior to the game, a multi-day celebration for the inductees took place in Atlanta, including several unique events and a special public ceremony at the College Football Hall of Fame where the inductees saw their legendary accomplishments permanently immortalized for the first time.

“As one of the founding partners of the Hall, we consider it a privilege to host and celebrate these inductees at our game and honor their contributions to college football,” said Gary Stokan, Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl CEO and President.

“The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl has established itself as one of the premier events in all of college football, and we are proud to partner with them in shining a light on the 2018 Hall of Fame Class,” said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell.

Three members of the 2018 Hall of Fame Class boast ties to the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. Matt Stinchcomb, a 2012 inductee into the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Hall of Fame, led Georgia to the 1995 and 1998 (win over Virginia) editions of the game. Frank Beamer coached Virginia Tech to the 2006 and 2009 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowls, including a 37-14 win over Tennessee in the latter game. Coach Mack Brown led North Carolina to a 21-17 win over Mississippi State in the 1993 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.


2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class


Player Position School
Trevor Cobb Running Back Rice (1989-92)
Kerry Collins Quarterback Penn State (1991-94)
Dave Dickenson Quarterback Montana (1992-95)
Dana Howard Linebacker Illinois (1991-94)
Calvin Johnson Wide Receiver Georgia Tech (2004-06)
Paul Palmer Running Back Temple (1983-86)
Ed Reed Defensive Back Miami [Fla.] (1998-2001)
Matt Stinchcomb Offensive Tackle Georgia (1995-98)
Aaron Taylor Center/Offensive Guard Nebraska (1994-97)
Charles Woodson Defensive Back Michigan (1995-97)


Coaches Record School
Frank Beamer 280-144-4 (65.9%) Murray State (1981-86), Virginia Tech (1987-2015)
Mack Brown 244-122-1 (66.6%) Appalachian State (1983), Tulane (1985-87), North Carolina (1988-97), Texas (1998-2013)
Mel Tjeerdsma 242-82-4 (74.4%) Austin College [Texas] (1984-93), Northwest Missouri State (1994-2010)


Go deep to receive the latest in news, updates and events each month!