Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Announces Honorary Captains

Houston’s Andre Ware and Florida State’s Warrick Dunn to be honored

ATLANTA (Dec. 30, 2015) – In keeping with its tradition of recognizing team celebrities prior to the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, officials today announced that Andre Ware and Warrick Dunn will be honoree captains for their respective alma maters at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl between No. 18 Houston and No. 9 Florida State. The duo will join the team captains at midfield for the pregame coin toss.

One of Houston’s greatest football players of all time and winner of the 1989 Heisman Trophy, former quarterback Andre Ware will serve as honorary captain for the Cougars. During his Heisman Trophy campaign, Ware threw for 4,699 yards and 44 touchdowns, setting 26 NCAA records along the way. He finished his career with over 8,200 passing yards and 75 scores. Drafted 7th overall by the Detroit Lions in the 1990 NFL Draft, Ware went on to play four seasons in the NFL.

The all-time rush leader in Florida State history, Warrick Dunn will serve as honorary captain for the Seminoles. A three time All-ACC selection and second team All-American, Dunn is the only Seminole to rush for over 1,000 yards in three consecutive seasons. A Louisiana native, Dunn was drafted 12th overall by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the 1997 NFL Draft. He went on to play 12 seasons in the NFL including six with the Atlanta Falcons. The 1997 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year and a three time pro-bowl selection, he finished his career with almost 11,000 rushing yards and 49 touchdowns.

The pair joins a list of previous honorees that includes Bo Jackson (Auburn), LaDainian Tomlinson (TCU), Charlie Ward (Florida State), R.C. Slocum (Texas A&M), George Rogers (South Carolina), Todd McClure (LSU) and Wesley Walls (Ole Miss), among others.

The 48th annual Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will host its matchup of two top-20 teams on Dec. 31 at 12 p.m. ET from the Georgia Dome in Atlanta. The game will be nationally televised by ESPN.For more information, visit


About Peach Bowl, Inc.:
Peach Bowl, Inc. operates the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, the ninth-oldest bowl game in the country and one of New Year’s Six Bowls selected to host the College Football Playoff. In 2015, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will host top nationally ranked teams as assigned by the College Football Playoff Selection Committee. In 2016, the Bowl will host its first College Football Playoff Semifinal (#1 vs. #4 or #2 vs. #3). The Bowl has sold out 17 of the last 18 years and has earned a reputation as one of the most competitive bowls in the country, with 55% of its games being decided by a touchdown or less. The Peach Bowl, Inc. has disbursed $150 million in team payouts over its 48-year history and has increased team payout every year since 1996. The Bowl also leads all other bowl game organizations in charitable and scholarship contributions, giving more than $17.9 million to organizations in need since 2002. Peach Bowl, Inc. also owns and manages the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament and The Dodd Trophy national coach of the year award. For more information, visit

Prev Next


Go deep to receive the latest in news, updates and events each month!